top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnnie Cate

Jesus is Better, Part 2: Love Your Identity





Well, readers, this week has been a crazy one. I can't believe it's almost February! Hearts, cards and Valentine's Day rule this month. But let's back it up to Valentine's Day real quick. Valentine's Day is great, right? Lots of the time, it is. But according to today's standards, teen girls are pressed to have a boyfriend who will cater to their every whim on this special day.


Surprise, surprise: this pressure can hurt. In almost every situation in society, we are poked and prodded to live up to a certain standard. And when we don't, things can get messy. People talk. What I'm about to tell you isn't a guess, a lie, or anything fake. In fact, you'll look at it and probably start nodding your head.


You've been told lies. Whether they're from you, a family member, friends, or from satan himself, there's something awful that you believe about yourself.


Sound relatable yet?


We allow these lies to define us and crush our expectations for ourselves. They drown us. They hurt us, pound us, and bury us underneath a pile of useless junk. Let me tell you something.


THEY AREN'T TRUE. THEY. ARE. RUBBISH. I don't care what you've heard... I DON'T CARE. IT DOESN'T DEFINE YOU.


Jesus is better than whatever falsehoods and fabrications you commit yourself to.

He's better than those voices inside your head that tell you you're worthless.


Like we talked about last week, He is better, no matter the circumstance.


Everyone (and I mean everyone) knows what it's like to feel unloved and unwanted... maybe even un-included. But don't let it get the best of you.


You are loved by the King of the Universe. Let that fact wrap around you like a warm blanket, covering you wherever you go.


You are an heir of the King.


And that makes you a princess! You are never worthless... in fact, the Bible says that you are prized far above rubies. I mean, come on, guys. YOU ARE MORE PRICELESS THAN A GEM. Pretty big stuff.


So don't ever let yourself believe that you're useless. I don't care who told that to you- because they're wrong. You're a royal heir of heaven and no one can take away your tiara. And I want you to remember that. Every single week I sign off by saying "I love you" and "you are worth it." Those words have been so influential in my life and I want to make sure everyone who reads this sees them once a week.


And those words are true.


- What are some ways you remember that Jesus is better?

- What are some encouraging quotes you love that will encourage someone going through a difficult time?




I LOVE YOU ALL. YOU ARE WORTH IT.


Until next Friday,


Annie Anderson

25 views0 comments
bottom of page